GRIT by Brit

Fun, Fierce, Fitness

GRITTY Circuit Workout – 40 minute Fat Blaster

6 Comments

Gritty Pretty

Hi guys!  So, I’ve been fairly successful so far on my 5 Day FOCUS Diet.  I had one bad night (pad thai w/veggies for dinner) but other than that I’m pretty proud of my discipline to date and am feeling better all ready – yay!  How’s the plan going for you?

On another note, a colleague and I have been working out together in the mornings at our hotel gym.  This morning we did an awesome HIIT workout from one of his men’s fitness magazines.  It was very GRITTY so I wanted to create a similar workout to share with you.  Now ladies, don’t be intimidated or turned off.  Just because the workout is intense and was originally designed for men doesn’t mean that it isn’t beneficial for us.  It won’t make us bulky or injure us if done properly.  GRITTY = PRETTY 🙂

Brit’s GRITTY Workout Details

  • Duration: Overall, the workout took us about 40 minutes to complete and we were DRENCHED in sweat by the end (my booty has been sore all day).
  • Calories Burned: ~400-600
  • Equipment: All you need is 2 medium to heavy dumbbells (I used 10 pounds and my male colleague used 15 pounds).
  • Style: High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT).  There are 6 circuits and each circuit includes 6 X 1 minute exercise intervals.  The workout nicely combines both strength and cardio training into combination exercises.

GRITTY HIIT CIRCUIT

Instructional photos

 Regular Front Squat + Side Squat
Screen-Shot-2012-01-25-at-11.06.37-AM1sidesquat
Bent Over Row + Upright Row
bent over row wideAppeal2
Squat with Shoulder Press
squat with shoulder press
Single Led Dead Lift
olympic-butt-a-3.small preview
Plank with hand shoulder taps
plank-shoulder-tap1-1
Author: Brit

I'm an entrepreneur, blogger and fitness instructor energized by FIERCE fitness, family, sunshine and hard work. Thanks for checking out my blog!

6 thoughts on “GRITTY Circuit Workout – 40 minute Fat Blaster

  1. Great workout, I only did 3 sets since I ran today. May I share this workout on my facebook page?

  2. I’m totally trying this on Monday – thanks!!

  3. Pingback: September Shape Up: Take the Challenge with Blake! | GRIT by Brit

Let Brit know what's on your mind!

